Sharon D. Banks Memorial Scholarship

Sharon D. Banks Memorial Scholarship

WTS fosters the development of women in the transportation field by encouraging bright new professionals to undertake careers in the area of transportation. One way it does this is by awarding the WTS Sharon D. Banks Memorial Scholarship to women pursuing undergraduate studies in transportation or a related field.

The scholarship honors Sharon D. Banks, chief executive officer of AC Transit in Alameda-Contra Costa County, California. As its CEO throughout most of the 1990’s, Banks led the agency in a pioneering effort to introduce cultural and organizational changes aimed at motivating the public transit workforce. She was a member of the WTS Advisory Board and received the WTS San Francisco Chapter Woman of the Year and Employer of the Year awards.

The Pittsburgh Chapter of WTS is accepting applications for the Sharon D. Banks Memorial Undergraduate Scholarship from Pennsylvania students (either attending school or permanently residing in Western Pennsylvania, or both).  The Pittsburgh Chapter recipient will receive a $2,500 scholarship and her application will be forwarded for consideration for the national-level scholarship of $5,000.

In order to qualify for the scholarship, applicants must meet the following criteria:

-GPA of 3.0 or higher.

-Currently enrolled in an undergraduate degree program in a transportation-related field, such as transportation engineering, planning, finance, or logistics.

-Plans to pursue a career in a transportation-related field.

Please review the application in full for all requirements and submission details.

Share this post